Compliance to standards specifications

An analysis of management strategies and required compliance to standards to identify the relevant compliance to standards and personal management strategies that a farm may run across during decision making.

Year of Publication2009

The future farm should be complied with standards to ensure competitiveness in international markets as well as sound environmental standards. A number of standards are available at Global, European, National, Regional and Terrestrial level. The standards are divided into voluntary and compulsory standards and each farm; region; country has differently implemented the directives, regulations and other standards that they have to comply with.This work package has investigated five major standards: Cross Compliance; Organic Farming; Integrated Crop Management; Water Policy; INSPIRE. The analysis has had three phases: (1) collection of directives, amendments and national translations; (2) breakdown of the three standards in the form of checklist; (3) metadata for all five standards.In the first phase, all the latest directives and regulations with their amendments and appendices for the five standards were collected as well as a number of national directives in English or in native languages to assist in a comparative study across countries on Deliverable 2.3.In the second phase, the standards that are directly related to farm practices were analyzed and were broken down in the form of a checklist. There were three standards, which were currently related to farm practices, which are: Cross Compliance (CC), Organic Farming(OF) and Integrated Crop Management (ICM). For the ICM standard the Global Gap voluntary standard was chosen for its wide acceptability. The Water Policy standard and more specifically the Water Framework Directive was not analyzed in the form of a checklist as it is not yet applicable at the farm level. The INSPIRE standard was again not directly applicable at the farm level and therefore was not again analyzed. The analysis was based on published checklists, where applicable as well as in our interpretation of the regulations and directives. We have to emphasize that this analysis has been carried out to the best of our knowledge. We would also like to emphasize that the methodology for breaking down the standards was chosen in consultation with Dr. Edward Nash (WP4 leader) that can be directly used and further analyzed into machine readable code for the development of the Farm Management Information System (FMIS).In the third phase the metadata that was created was again based on the requirements of WP4 and include six items: (1) Definition of the standard; (2) Scope; (3) Who publishes the standard?; (4) When it was published?; (5) Who is responsible for implementing or assessing compliance? And (6) Other related standards.This deliverable is divided into five stages according to the five standards and the structure is according to the metada. For CC, OF and ICM, the developed checklists follows the metadata. The collected directives, amendments and national standards for all five standards are added in five appendices.

This item is categorised as follows

Additional keywords/tags

organic farmingintegrated crop managementknowledge managementfarm management information systemcross complianceffd2 1 1
Error: The remote server returned an unexpected response: (302) Found.

What Next...?

This is a brief summary of an item in the OpenFields Library. This free online library contains items of interest to practitioners and researchers in the agricultural and landbased industries.

In early 2017, OpenFields Library content will be migrated to its successor site, Farming and Food Futures.